Filings for council seats slowly coming in as deadline nears

  Of the four council positions up for election this year, only two incumbents have refiled to serve so far. The filing deadline is Thursday, June 27 at 5 p.m., at the Clerk and Recorder’s office of the Prairie County Courthouse. The two incumbents who have filed for re-election are Rolane Christofferson, Ward II council person and Clinton Rakes, Ward I council person. The other two positions up for election are currently held by Teneil Phipps, Ward II, and Mayor Ron Kiosse. 

Candidates seeking to file for the positions must turn in their paperwork by Thursday, June 27 at 5 p.m. to the Prairie County Clerk and Recorder’s office. 
     Kiosse has served as town mayor since 2010. Rakes and Christofferson both began their terms in 2010 as well. Phipps was appointed to the council after council person Kathy Hickman resigned shortly before she moved from Terry.
Filing for the three seats opened April 29.
Candidates seeking election must live within their ward for 60 days. Ward I includes those living west of Logan Avenue while Ward II candidates must live east of Logan Avenue.              
Candidates seeking the mayor position must live within the state for three years and within Terry for two years.

Published June 19, 2013

Article Type: 


How would you feel about a four-day school week in Terry?: