Mintz to serve on state emergency group

     Prairie Community Hospital’s Chip Mintz, PA was recently appointed to serve on the State Emergency Care Committee. The two-year appointment, which began immediately, joins Mintz with 16 other members throughout the state on the newly-formed advisory group.

     Serving under the Department of Public Health and Human Services, the committee will implement strategic plans to help improve emergency and trauma care throughout the state.

     After a 2007 legislative audit of emergency care in the state, an oversight committee, like ECC, was recommended, according to the state emergency medical service and trauma supervisor Jim DeTienne.

     “It’s going to be kind of a fun committee. I’m looking forward to it,” DeTienee said, noting representatives from various fields and locations throughout the state will help provide a broad based view of ideas

     “It will be a great benefit,” DeTienee said of Mintz’s appointment, noting Mintz will provide a valuable rural perspective to the group.

     Other committee members include: Kimberly Burdick, Fort Benton, Montana Association of Public-Safety Communications Officials; Robin Foley, RN Butte; Don Whalen, EMT-P, Missoula, EMS service; Leo Dutton, Helena, Montana Sheriff’s and Peace Officers Association; Michael Painter, Missoula, Montana State Fire Chiefs Association; Scott Schandelson, RN, Great Falls, Montana Trauma Care Committee; James Laidlaw, EMT-P, Cut Bank; Bonnie Harmon, EMT-Basic; Carole Raymond, EMT Forsyth; James Majxner, MD Bozeman EMS Medical Director – Urban; Tina Frisch-Eblen, Helena Montana Hospital Association; Susan Woods, RN, Hot Springs/Plains; Gary James Melborne, Poplar, HIS/Tribal Facility; Charles Farmer, EMT, Cut Bank; Joe Hansen, EMT, Big Timber.

     The group will gather for their first meeting May 18 in Helena.

Published April 29, 2009

Article Type: 


How would you feel about a four-day school week in Terry?: