Two more file as deadline nears

        As the March 10 deadline nears for regular filing for county seats up for election this year, two more have thrown in their hats. 

Terry resident Bob van der Valk filed for Justice of the Peace. So far, he and incumbent Kathy Henry are the only two running for the 4-year term position. 
Fallon resident Sandy Helmuth has filed for the county commissioner seat for district I. This 6-year term seat is currently held by Ann Marie Davis, who has yet to re-file. Since Davis is running as an Independent, the deadline to file is May 27.
Other incumbents who have re-filed in the county seats that are open for election this year are: Dale Hellman, coroner; Tim Rittal, public administrator; Duncan Hedges, sheriff  and treasurer/superintendent of schools Jamie Smith.
A Primary Election will be held June 3, with the General Election scheduled for November 4.
Filing information is available at the courthouse in the office of the Prairie County Clerk and Recorder.

March 5, 2014

Article Type: 


How would you feel about a four-day school week in Terry?: