Agency begins nominating phase

        The USDA’s Farm Service Agency announced that farmer and rancher candidate nominations begin June 15 for the local Farm Service Agency county committees.  

Current members of Prairie County’s committee are: Tim Ehman, chair, Brady Liles, vice chair, Darren Dukart, member, and Carol Lachenmaier, advisor. Ehman is the only committee member who has termed out, having already served three terms, according to FSA County Executive Director Tim Krebsbach.
To be eligible to serve on an FSA county committee, a person must participate or cooperate in a program administered by FSA, be eligible to vote in a county committee election, and reside in the local administrative area (LAA) in which the person is a candidate. 
Producers may nominate themselves, as well as be nominated by organizations representing minorities and women. To become a nominee, eligible candidates must sign FSA-669A. The form and other information about FSA county committee elections are available on the Montana Farm Service Agency Website at “hot links section” and clicking on the 2009 COC Election link. Nomination forms for the 2009 election must be postmarked or received in the local USDA Service Center by close of business on Aug 3, 2009. 
FSA county committee members make decisions on disaster and conservation programs, emergency programs, commodity price support loan programs and other important agricultural issues.  
Committees consist of three to five members who are elected by eligible local producers.
FSA will mail ballots to producers beginning November 6. The voted ballots are due back to the local county office either via mail of in person by December 7, 2009. 
Newly elected committee members and alternates take office January 1, 2010.

Published June 10, 2009

Article Type: 


How would you feel about a four-day school week in Terry?: