Preparations made for mayoral and council elections

         With the town election date of Nov. 3 steadily approaching Prairie County Clerk and Recorder and Election Administrator Toni Kalfell reminds voters within Terry’s town limits that voter registration is available through election day. Voters need only stop by the courthouse to complete the needed paperwork.

Regular registration closes October 5 at 5 p.m., with late voter registration occurring from Oct. 6 through noon on Nov. 2. Kalfell noted there really is no difference between the two categories excepting the title.
Election day voter registration is available as well, from 8 a.m. to 8 p.m. Those who register on  Nov. 3, must also fill out their ballots at the courthouse rather than at the polls.
“They will have to bring an id card,” Kalfell said, noting a driver’s license or utility bill works best.
The town wide polling station will be held at Terry Town Hall from 7 a.m. to 8 p.m. 
Thirty-nine absentee ballots are scheduled to be mailed out. Currently there are 423 registered voters within Terry, 216 of those residing in Ward I while the remainder, 207 reside in Ward II, located east of Logan Avenue.
Candidates who have filed to run are: Mayor Ken Lacquement, Ron Kiosse, and Todd Braddock; Ward I council person (2-year term) Josh Helmuth and Dennis Clarke Haughian; Ward I council person Clinton Rakes and Chip Mintz; Ward II council person Jim Ross, Joe Johnson and Rolane Christofferson. Linda Peel is the only write-in candidate, running for mayor.
Filed candidates were asked to share their views on local issues. Their written responses can be found beginning on page 6 of The Terry Tribune.

Published Sept. 16, 2009

Article Type: 


How would you feel about a four-day school week in Terry?: